DES MOINES — A toasty day one of the 2019 State Track and Field Meet made sunscreen and water a must for all spectators and competitors. Two Iowegianland athletes competed on the day away from the blue oval with Centerville’s Cade Moore in the 3A discus and Seymour’s Sloan Sulser in the 1A shot put.

Moore got things started late Thursday morning in front of a good crowd in and around the discus area on the north side of the complex.

The Centerville junior was in the first flight, needing to post a good throw in order to make it to the final eight. Moore would scratch on his first two throws to make his final throw his most important.

His final throw would come in at 136-10, putting him in 17th place overall. Moore came into the day with the 16th best qualifier throw at 146-10, that same throw would’ve put him in a tie for 10th at state.

Matt Vislisel of Mount Vernon won the event with a throw of 174-1.

Moore finished 21st in this same event last year, with his best throw coming in at 135-7.

Sulser and the rest of the 1A boys shot put got to stand and throw in 90-plus degree heat with a slight wind in their face. Officially, Thursday’s high of 93-degrees was the hottest day one temperature since the meet went co-ed.

Sulser didn’t waste any time as he had his first throw was his best throw. His first would measure in at 44-5.25, good for 16th place.

He would have two more throws but they would both fall short of the mark at 43-4.5 and 40-7.

Sulser came into the event with the 17th-best qualifying throw at 45-5.75. His season-best throw was 45-11.5.

Lawton-Bronson’s Zach Verzani won the event on his last throw, which came in at 54-3.25.

Sulser will be back in action on Friday at 4:30 p.m. for the 1A boys discus.

Action will continue for several Iowegianland athletes at Drake Stadium all day Friday and Saturday.

Thursday local boys results

Discus (3A) — 17. Cade Moore (Centerville, 136-10)

Shot put (1A) — 16. Sloan Sulser (Seymour, 44-5.25)

Thursday medalists

Discus (3A) — 1. Matt Vislisel (Mt Vernon, 174-1); 2. Nick DeJong (Pella, 163-5); 3. Derec Weyer (Harlan, 163-4); 4. Mitchell Miller (Wahlert, Dub, 161-1); 5. Zach Beason (Mt Pleasant, 158-6); 6. Caleb Bieker (Harlan, 156-6); 7. Coal Flansburg (Solon, 155-3); 8. Cooper Becthold (Mt Vernon, 148-6)

Shot put (1A) — 1. Zach Verzani (Lawton-Bronson, 54-3.25); 2. T.J. Schnurr (Bishop Garrigan, 53-0.5); 3. Luke Lasack (Midland, Wyoming, 51-2.5); 4. Will Clapper (Baxter, 50-6); 5. Conner Alley (Fremont-Mills, 49-8.25); 6. Alex Mammen (Bishop Garrigan, 49-4.25); 7. Rylan James (Lynnville-Sully, 48-11.5); 8. Chandler Redenius (West Hancock, 48-11.5)

Colin Peters is a sports reporter for the Daily Iowegian. He can be reached at or by calling the newsroom at 641-856-6336. Follow him on Twitter @ColinPetersDI.


Recommended for you