It was a down year for the Moravia and Seymour football teams this season as both finished with a losing record. As a result, the list of all-district selections is a little shorter than usual.

Wednesday, November 14, 2018

The Seymour and Centerville girls basketball teams have had to scrimmage against themselves all summer and fall. Finally, at the Wayne Jamboree, they were able to get a glimpse at what they can do against other competition, albeit if it was just for a pair of eight minute halves.

Wednesday, November 07, 2018

In a new series where we look at former Iowegian athletes continuing to carry the torch for their schools in college, we now look at Seymour. Four women are currently representing Seymour in the college ranks with three of them playing softball.

Monday, November 05, 2018

The National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) released their annual survey this fall on the nation’s high school sports participation numbers. Iowa stayed 19th in the nation in participation with football seeing another decline in participants.

Friday, November 02, 2018

The Bluegrass Conference released their all-conference volleyball selections made by the coaches for this past season. To little surprise, the conference champion Seymour Warriorettes made up a majority of the east division with five selections while Moravia had three and Moulton-Udell had one.

Wednesday, October 31, 2018

The good news, Seymour snapped a 13-game losing streak by winning their season opener. The bad news, that would end up being Seymour’s only win this season.

Monday, October 29, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018

BLOOMFIELD — For a second consecutive season, the Crusaders of No. 3 Holy Trinity Catholic ended the Warriorettes’ season. Two teams in great form clashed inside Davis County’s gym on Thursday and it would be Holy Trinity earning a trip to the regional finals with a 3-0 (25-9, 25-9, 25-9) sw…

Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
featured

MOULTON — The Warriorettes extended their season and increased their school-record in wins to 29 while the Lady Mohawks saw their postseason come to an end in a 3-0 (25-16, 25-20, 25-7) loss to Seymour.

Sunday, October 21, 2018
Friday, October 19, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018

MOULTON — Seymour was able to draw a favorable matchup for their first round matchup in regionals. The Warriorettes defeated Moulton-Udell for the fourth time this season earning a 3-0 (25-9, 25-6, 25-11) sweep.

Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Sunday, October 14, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018

MELCHER-DALLAS — Second place in the Albia Tournament, second place in the Lady Falcons Tournament and second place in the Bluegrass Conference Tournament last year. The Warriorettes have had their fair share of runner up finishes, but not this time. Seymour scratched and clawed their way th…

Thursday, October 11, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 09, 2018
Monday, October 08, 2018

SEYMOUR — This game hasn’t been close in recent years, but Seymour didn’t care about the past as they also defeated Moravia for the first time since 2008. It would be the Mohawks coming out as the victors once again as they defeated the Warriors 30-22.

Thursday, October 04, 2018

It’s the dog days of the volleyball season, the conference tournament is just around the corner followed by regionals just a couple of weeks away. Seymour may be feeling those effects as they made some uncharacteristic errors in a 3-0 (25-13, 25-20, 25-14) sweep over Melcher-Dallas.

Tuesday, October 02, 2018

The IHSAA added a big change to football playoff qualifying starting this season. District champions/co-champions will still receive automatic bids, but they will now be debuting a Ratings Percentage Index (RPI) formula for the remaining at-large bids to make a 16-team playoff.

Sunday, September 30, 2018

LAMONI — It been a tough last couple of weeks for the Warriors as they dropped their fifth straight game after an opening week win. This time it came to the hands of Lamoni who ran away with a 52-12 win over Seymour.

Friday, September 28, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018

The IHSAA added a big change to football playoff qualifying starting this season. District champions/co-champions will still receive automatic bids, but they will now be debuting a Ratings Percentage Index (RPI) formula for the remaining at-large bids to make a 16-team playoff.

Monday, September 24, 2018
Sunday, September 23, 2018

MURRAY — Despite their best offensive and defensive output since their first game of the year, Seymour suffered their fourth straight defeat at the hands of Murray losing 46-20 on Friday night.

Friday, September 21, 2018

MORAVIA — Spectators from Moravia and nearby Seymour packed inside of the gym at Moravia High School in what was one of the more lively crowds of the season. They would witness an impressive display from No. 14 Seymour as they dispatched Moravia 3-0 (25-10, 25-15, 25-7) on Thursday night.

Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018

The IHSAA added a big change to football playoff qualifying starting this season. District champions/co-champions will still receive automatic bids, but they will now be debuting a Ratings Percentage Index (RPI) formula for the remaining at-large bids to make a 16-team playoff.

Sunday, September 16, 2018

With homecoming festivities happening all week long, it would be Southeast Warren who would put a sour note on the week in an 82-12 demolishing win over Seymour.

Thursday, September 13, 2018
Tuesday, September 11, 2018

The IHSAA added a big change to football playoff qualifying starting this season. District champions/co-champions will still receive automatic bids, but they will now be debuting a Ratings Percentage Index (RPI) formula for the remaining at-large bids to make a 16-team playoff.

Monday, September 10, 2018
Saturday, September 08, 2018

SEYMOUR — A 55-8 loss by the Seymour Warriors against the Lenox Tigers quickly got out of reach Friday.

Thursday, September 06, 2018

This marks the second year that Seymour has to play their home matches away from home while their new gym is being built. They join Centerville in calling Howar Gym their home this fall. The Warriorettes would dominant in their home opener sweeping Twin Cedars 3-0 (25-6, 25-14, 25-16).

Wednesday, September 05, 2018
Tuesday, September 04, 2018

The Top Ten teams in the Associated Press Iowa high school football polls of the 2018 season with first-place votes in parentheses, win-loss record, and total points:

Sunday, September 02, 2018

BUSSEY — After snapping a 13-game losing streak last week, Seymour was unable to ride the momentum as old habits creept back in a 50-6 defeat to Twin Cedars.

Thursday, August 30, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018

The Top Ten teams in the Associated Press Iowa high school football polls of the 2018 season with first-place votes in parentheses, win-loss record, and total points:

Monday, August 27, 2018

ELDON — Early season tournaments can account for around 25 percent of a team’s schedule. So it is very important but also challenging to play in these four or five-game marathon days. Three local teams traveled to Eldon on Saturday to compete in the Cardinal Tournament with No. 15 Seymour fi…

Sunday, August 26, 2018

The beauty of the start of every season, it’s a clean slate for every team. For Seymour, they were coming off a winless season where they gave up an average of 55.4 points per game. But with a clean slate and the hope of new season, the Warriors came out of the gates hot by smoking Melcher-D…

Thursday, August 23, 2018

This Week's Circulars