It was a down year for the Moravia and Seymour football teams this season as both finished with a losing record. As a result, the list of all-district selections is a little shorter than usual.

Monday, November 12, 2018

In a new series where we look at former Iowegian athletes continuing to carry the torch for their schools in college, we now look at Moravia. There are 10 former Mohawks currently continuing their athletic careers in college. There are a variety of sports represented with three in football, …

Monday, November 05, 2018

The National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) released their annual survey this fall on the nation’s high school sports participation numbers. Iowa stayed 19th in the nation in participation with football seeing another decline in participants.

Friday, November 02, 2018

The Bluegrass Conference released their all-conference volleyball selections made by the coaches for this past season. To little surprise, the conference champion Seymour Warriorettes made up a majority of the east division with five selections while Moravia had three and Moulton-Udell had one.

Tuesday, October 30, 2018

There were certainly a few concerns for Moravia football entering the season on whether or not they would be able to follow up on a 9-2 season last year. As it would turn out, those concerns would be too much to overcome as Denny Whitlow’s Mohawks suffered their first losing season since 2014.

Tuesday, October 23, 2018
featured

MOULTON — The Warriorettes extended their season and increased their school-record in wins to 29 while the Lady Mohawks saw their postseason come to an end in a 3-0 (25-16, 25-20, 25-7) loss to Seymour.

Monday, October 22, 2018
Sunday, October 21, 2018

LENOX — It was the final game for the seniors of the Moravia football team and despite suffering a 42-20 loss, one senior made sure to leave his mark on the field.

Friday, October 19, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018

MORAVIA — From the first point to the last point, this was a complete performance from the Lady Mohawks. Moravia locked in their playoff game faces and took care of business on their home floor defeating Twin Cedars 3-0 (25-15, 25-13, 25-14) in the first round of a Class 1A regional matchup.

Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Sunday, October 14, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 09, 2018
Monday, October 08, 2018

SEYMOUR — This game hasn’t been close in recent years, but Seymour didn’t care about the past as they also defeated Moravia for the first time since 2008. It would be the Mohawks coming out as the victors once again as they defeated the Warriors 30-22.

Friday, October 05, 2018

The volleyball match was great, but there was also a lot of prominent things going on outside of the game as well. It was Senior Night, Pink Out and Soup Supper/Silent Auction fundraiser night in Moravia and the Lady Mohawks were able to cap it off winning a fantastic five setter 3-2 (25-19,…

Thursday, October 04, 2018
Tuesday, October 02, 2018

The IHSAA added a big change to football playoff qualifying starting this season. District champions/co-champions will still receive automatic bids, but they will now be debuting a Ratings Percentage Index (RPI) formula for the remaining at-large bids to make a 16-team playoff.

Sunday, September 30, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018

The IHSAA added a big change to football playoff qualifying starting this season. District champions/co-champions will still receive automatic bids, but they will now be debuting a Ratings Percentage Index (RPI) formula for the remaining at-large bids to make a 16-team playoff.

Friday, September 21, 2018

MORAVIA — Spectators from Moravia and nearby Seymour packed inside of the gym at Moravia High School in what was one of the more lively crowds of the season. They would witness an impressive display from No. 14 Seymour as they dispatched Moravia 3-0 (25-10, 25-15, 25-7) on Thursday night.

Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018

It’s the busiest week of the season for the Lady Mohawks, who play five matches this week. After dropping two matches on the road on Monday, Moravia was able to grab a split on Tuesday defeating Diagonal 2-0 (25-20, 27-25) before falling to Murray 2-0 (25-5, 25-12).

Tuesday, September 18, 2018

The IHSAA added a big change to football playoff qualifying starting this season. District champions/co-champions will still receive automatic bids, but they will now be debuting a Ratings Percentage Index (RPI) formula for the remaining at-large bids to make a 16-team playoff.

Monday, September 17, 2018
Friday, September 14, 2018
featured

MORAVIA — The Moravia Mohawks mostly controlled on both sides of the ball from whistle to whistle Friday, handing a dominating 52-14 defeat the Murray Mustangs.

Thursday, September 13, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018

MOULTON — After starting the year 0-7, Moravia has started to turn things around in conference play grabbing three straight wins including their most recent 3-0 (25-13, 25-13, 25-18) win at Moulton-Udell.

Tuesday, September 11, 2018

The IHSAA added a big change to football playoff qualifying starting this season. District champions/co-champions will still receive automatic bids, but they will now be debuting a Ratings Percentage Index (RPI) formula for the remaining at-large bids to make a 16-team playoff.

Sunday, September 09, 2018

LIBERTY CENTER — It's been a difficult non-district stretch for the Mohawks, who suffered their second straight blowout defeat on Friday losing 46-8 to Southeast Warren, a team that could likely enter the rankings this week.

Thursday, September 06, 2018
Wednesday, September 05, 2018
Tuesday, September 04, 2018

CORYDON — It was a great opening week for Centerville as they ended their opening week with a solid team finish and a couple of great individual finishes. The Centerville boys would take fifth out of 11 qualifying teams with a team score of 145. The girls, who didn’t run enough girls to plac…

The Top Ten teams in the Associated Press Iowa high school football polls of the 2018 season with first-place votes in parentheses, win-loss record, and total points:

Friday, August 31, 2018
Thursday, August 30, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018

The Top Ten teams in the Associated Press Iowa high school football polls of the 2018 season with first-place votes in parentheses, win-loss record, and total points:

Sunday, August 26, 2018

BUSSEY — With football always having a certain sense of uncertainty, one thing has stayed consistent for coach Denny Whitlow over the past couple of years. For the fifth straight year, Moravia has won their season opener. This one they did in dominant fashion, blowing out Twin Cedars 47-8.

Thursday, August 23, 2018
Tuesday, August 21, 2018

ALBIA — The volleyball season has hit the ground running as six teams gathered inside the two gyms of Albia high school for a four-game tournament to begin the season. Three ranked teams were in the field including No. 15 Seymour, who would end up taking second place after losing 2-0 (21-12,…

Friday, August 17, 2018

Parents and fans of Moravia got a chance to get a glance at the upcoming fall sports teams on Thursday with the season rapidly approaching. Moravia hosted their annual ‘Meet the Mohawks’ night which showcased inter-squad scrimmages from the volleyball and football teams while attendees had a…

Thursday, August 16, 2018

Darcie Whitlow returns to head the Moravia cross country team. They don’t lose any seniors from last year’s young squad while returning nine.

Sunday, August 12, 2018

Derek Reischauer’s second year as head coach of the Lady Mohawks will require a lot of teaching due to the massive turnover from last year’s 13-15 team. Reischauer will have to replace seven graduated seniors and three foreign exchange students while only returning two letter winners.

Wednesday, August 08, 2018

This Week's Circulars