Ad-Express and Daily Iowegian, Centerville, IA

April 10, 2014

Falcons record Sunday sweep over Reivers

By Kyle Ocker Sports Editor
The Daily Iowegian

---- — COUNCIL BLUFFS — The Indian Hills Falcons are holding the top-spot in the Iowa Community College Athletic Conference, following Sunday’s sweep of 15th-ranked Iowa Western.

The Falcons split a twin bill on Saturday against the team. A day later, the Falcons swept the final two games of the conference series against the Iowa Western Reivers.

The win gives the Falcons a 6-2 conference record, putting them a game ahead of Iowa Western, the reigning regional champions.

Indian Hills opened Sunday’s action with a 7-5 victory over Iowa Western.

The Falcons’ Joel Booker was a single short of the cycle. He reached on a fielder’s choice in his first at bat in the first inning. Booker would hit a three-run home run in the second inning to give the Falcons a 4-0 lead at the time. He would hits a triple in the fourth inning before closing his offensive performance with a double in the sixth inning.

Edgar Lebron also had a solo home run for the Falcons. His solo shot put the Falcons up 5-2 in the fourth inning. A single by Polanco would drive in Booker later in the inning, giving the Falcons a 6-2 lead after four innings of play.

Indian Hills’ final run was scored by Ratzman, who hit a one-out single in the sixth inning. In the next at bat, Ratzman was plated by Booker’s double.

In the closing game of the conference series Sunday evening, the Falcons recorded eight hits in their 8-4 victory.

The Falcons jumped ahead early with three-run first inning. Ratzman, Polanco and Junior Santos would all come around to score to give the Falcons a 3-0 advantage.

Iowa Western would see David Parrett come around to score after he reached on a walk. The Reviers’ Jason McMurray would drive him in with a single to centerfield to narrow the gap to 3-1.

A one-out triple by Caleb Ratzman would lead to a two-run second inning for the Falcons. Ratzman and Booker would both come around to score on a two-out single by Santos.

The Falcons would retire the side with a fly out and two strikeouts to take a 5-1 lead into the third inning. There, Indian Hills would see Mitch Langer reach on an error. He would come around to score on the next at bat when a dropped third strike lead to another error.

A leadoff triple by Iowa Western’s Ryan Merrill, following by a single by Parrett, gave the Reivers their second run of the game.

Indian Hills and Iowa Western would go quietly in the fourth inning. Iowa Western would retire keep the Falcons off of the bases in the fifth inning with three-straight outs.

The Reivers would bring two more runners around in the fifth inning, narrowing the Falcons’ lead to two runs.

After a third straight scoreless inning, the Falcons would bring two more insurance runs around to take an 8-4 lead. Indian Hills’ Jose Marin would lead the Falcons defense to three straight outs in the bottom of the seventh to secure the series win over the Reivers.

On Tuesday, Indian Hills took a quick 1-0 lead when Ratzman scored on a Santos RBI single. However, the Iowa Central Tritons would hold the Falcons to three hits as the Tritons would eventually win 7-1.

The Falcons (23-11, 6-2 in ICCAC) hosted Southeastern Community College on Wednesday. They will host another ICCAC pair of twin bills against Marshalltown Community College on Saturday and Sunday. The first doubleheader, on Saturday, begins at 1 p.m. with Sunday’s action getting underway at 12 p.m


Sunday’s games

Indian Hills 7, Iowa Western 5

IHCC 130 201 0 — 7 11 4

IWCC 002 300 0 — 5 9 1

Indian Hills battery — Derek Kawlewski [W] (5IP, 8H, 5R, 1ER, 2BB, 2K), Cody Hinson (1.2IP, 1H, 0R, 0ER, 1BB, 2K), Johno Rodriguez (.2IP, 0H, 0R, 0ER, 0BB, 1K).

Hits — Caleb Ratzman 2-4, Joel Booker 3-4, Dario Polanco 2-4, Junior Santos 1-4, Jake Lewis 1-1, Edgar Lebron 2-3. 2B — Booker, Polanco. 3B — Booker. HR — Booker, Lebron. RBI — Booker 4, Polanco 2, Lebron 1. Runs — Booker 3, Ratzman 2, Lebron 2.

Iowa Western battery — Brayden Young [L] (2IP, 5H, 4R, 1ER, 1BB, 1K), Kaj Timmermans (1.2IP, 3H, 2R, 2ER, 1BB, 1K), Quinn Carpenter (3.2IP, 3H, 1R, 1ER, 1BB, 9K).

Hits — Don Thompson-William 1-3, Ryan Merrill 2-4, David Parrett 1-3, Jordan Schehuber 2-4, Jason McMurray 1-4, Jake Scudder 1-4, Alex Krupa 1-3. SB — McMurray, Krupa 3. RBI — Thompson-William, Merrill, Parrett, McMurray. Runs — Thompson-William 2, Merrill, Krupa, Jacob Sheldon-Collin.

Indian Hills 8, Iowa Western 4

IHCC 321 000 2 — 8 8 1

IWCC 101 020 0 — 4 8 3

Indian Hills battery — Nick Green (5IP, 7H, 4R, 4ER, 2BB, 5K), Jose Marin [W] (2IP, 1H, 0R, 0ER, 0BB, 2K).

Hits — Ratzman 2-4, Polanco 1-3, Santos 2-4, Paulo Montezuma 2-4, Mitch Langer 1-4. 2B — Ratzman. 3B — Ratzman. SB — Booker. RBI — Santos 3, Montezuma 2, Langer, Lewis. Runs — Ratzman 2, JBooker 2, Polanco 2, Santos, Langer.

Iowa Western battery — Erik Swanson [L] (2IP, 6H, 5R, 4ER, 0BB, 3K), Thomas Busbice (4IP, 0H, 1R, 0ER, 1BB, 5K), Drake Robison (1IP, 2H, 2R, 2ER, 2BB, 0K).

Hits — Ryan Merrill 2-4, David Parrett 1-2, Jason McMurray 2-4, Alex Krupa 1-2, Tanner Ledezma 2-2. 3B — Merrill. SB — Thompson-Williams, McMurray, Schehuber, Parrett 2. RBI — McMurray 2, Parrett, Krupa. Runs — Parrett 2, Merrill, Schehuber.

Tuesday’s game

Iowa Central 7, Indian Hills 1

IHCC 100 000 000 — 1 3 4

IAC 001 010 32x — 7 15 0

Indian Hills battery — Jesse Anderson (3.2IP, 7H, 1R, 1ER, 2BB, 3K), Joelfi Arias [L] (2.1IP, 2H, 1R, 1ER, 0BB, 3K), Johno Rodriguez (1.2IP, 6H, 5R, 2ER, 1BB, 0K), Jordan Magers (.2IP, 0H, 0R, 0ER, 0BB, 0K).

Hits — Junior Santos 1-4, Mitch Langer 1-4, Edgar Lebron 1-3. 2B — Santos. RBI — Santos. Runs — Ratzman.

Iowa Central battery — Abrahan Flete [W] (5IP, 1H, 1R, 1ER, 1BB, 6K), Weston Glienke (4IP, 2H, 0R, 0ER, 0BB, 2K).

Hits — Tanner Buenting 3-5, Andy De Jesus 2-5, Damian Rutherford 2-5, Jason Galeano 3-4, Nate Stegar 1-5, Noah Pickard 3-4, Michael Kinning 1-3. 2B — Pickard, Rutherford 2. HR — Buenting. SB — Pickard, De Jesus. RBI — Pickard 3, Buenting, De Jesus, Galeano, Stegar. Runs — Buenting 2, De Jesus, Rutherford, Galeano, Stegar, Ian Ross.