Ad-Express and Daily Iowegian, Centerville, IA

June 12, 2014

IHCC theatrical awards

The Daily Iowegian

---- — OTTUMWA — The Indian Hills Community College Performing Arts Department has honored two outstanding performers and two theatre technical crew students for their work during the 2013-14 academic year. Indian Hills presented “Dracula” by William McNulty last fall and Shakespeare’s “Macbeth” this spring.

Winning the title of Best Performer in “Dracula” was sophomore Andrew Kecy of Knoxville and the Best Performer award for “Macbeth” went to sophomore Mason Ferguson of Wayland.

Back stage technical work was also recognized. The award for Best Technical Support in “Dracula” went to Trey McIntosh of Des Moines and the behind-the-scenes accolades for “Macbeth” went to Ethan Goetz of Oskaloosa.

Kecy and Ferguson also received special awards for their exceptional work in helping to direct “Macbeth.”

Students receiving participation medals for their work in both productions included: Gabrielle Wells (Albia); Aaryn Frazier (Blue Earth, Minn.); Hailey Haring (Cambria); Colleen Hunkele (Chariton); Trey McIntosh and Arlina Miller (Des Moines); Jessica Williams (Eddyville); Tyler Breeding (Fairfield); Andrew Kecy (Knoxville); Ethan Goetz (Oskaloosa); Elizabeth Caudill, Jacoby Clingman, Larissa Mincks, Molly Overturf and Elizabeth Pickens (Ottumwa) and Niccole Giberson (Packwood),

Students receiving participation medals for their work in “Dracula” included: Rachel Benson (Albia); Austin Haring (Cambria); Holly Woodley and Victoriana Wiebe (Centerville); Lucas Burtlow (Ollie); Charlotte Anderson, Brittany Derby, Andrew Milder, Nikki Mitchell and Steven Nash (Ottumwa), Preston Hawkins (Queen City, Mo.) and Jaden Ferguson (Wayland).

Students receiving participation medals for their work in “Macbeth” included: Tanner Benson Six (Knoxville); Korey Lee Brookhart (LeClaire); Stevie Wallace (Norwalk); Gage De La Cruz (Oskaloosa); Lucas Clark and Thad Overturf (Ottumwa); and Parker Anderson (Wright City, Mo.).