Ad-Express and Daily Iowegian, Centerville, IA


September 27, 2012

Disaster assistance available for Iowa small businesses

SACRAMENTO, Calif. — Small, nonfarm businesses in 22 Iowa counties and neighboring counties in Minnesota and Missouri are now eligible to apply for low-interest federal disaster loans from the U. S. Small Business Administration. 

"These loans offset economic losses because of reduced revenues caused by the drought that began July 24, 2012, in the following primary counties," announced Alfred E. Judd, director of SBA's Disaster Field Operations Center-West.

Primary Iowa counties: Clarke, Emmet, Madison, Taylor, Union and Warren;

Neighboring Iowa counties: Adair, Adams, Clay, Dallas, Decatur, Dickinson, Guthrie, Kossuth, Lucas, Marion, Montgomery, Page, Palo Alto, Polk, Ringgold and Wayne;

Neighboring Minnesota counties: Jackson and Martin;

Neighboring Missouri counties: Nodaway and Worth.

"SBA eligibility covers both the economic impacts on businesses dependent on farmers and ranchers that have suffered agricultural production losses caused by the disaster and businesses directly impacted by the disaster," Judd said.

Small, nonfarm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private, nonprofit organizations of any size may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans of up to $2 million to help meet financial obligations and operating expenses which could have been met had the disaster not occurred.

"Eligibility for these loans is based on the financial impact of the disaster only and not on any actual property damage.  These loans have an interest rate of 4 percent for businesses and 3 percent for private, nonprofit organizations, a maximum term of 30 years, and are available to small businesses and most private, nonprofits without the financial ability to offset the adverse impact without hardship," Judd said.

By law, SBA makes EIDLs available when the U. S. Secretary of Agriculture designates an agricultural disaster.   

Secretary Tom Vilsack declared this disaster on Sept. 19, 2012.

Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for SBA disaster assistance.  Agricultural enterprises should contact the Farm Services Agency  about the U. S. Department of Agriculture assistance made available by the Secretary's declaration. 

However, in drought disasters nurseries are eligible for SBA disaster assistance.

Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application via SBA's secure web site at  

Disaster loan information and application forms are also available from SBA's Customer Service Center by calling SBA toll-free at (800) 659-2955, emailing, or visiting SBA's Web site at 

Individuals who are deaf or hard-of-hearing may call (800) 877‑8339.

The deadline to apply for these loans is May 20, 2013.

Text Only
Featured Ads

The Iowegian wants readers to think about the solicitation ordinance that will prevent groups or individuals from entering a roadway to solicit money. The Centerville City Council in June by a 5-0 vote passed the first reading of just such an ordinance. Public pressure and during a subsequent special meeting, the council voted 3-2 to table the ordinance. A second special meeting to discuss the solicitation ordinance is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 7 at City Hall. So, the question of the week is, "Do you or do you not support the ordinance to prevent solicitation of funds in city streets?"

A. I support the ordinance
B. I do not support the ordinance
C. Not sure
     View Results
Iowegian on Facebook