1. The scale model of the Vietnam Veterans Memorial is open through 2 p.m. Sunday at the Greater Jefferson County Fairgrounds in Fairfield. Sponsored by the American Legion Auxiliary #47, The Wall That Heals is open 24 hours a day at no charge. Volunteers will be available to help visitors find names and make rubbings. An educational center in the trailer that delivers the Wall will display exhibits relating to the Memorial in Washington, D.C. and Iowa Vietnam veterans. The fairgrounds are located across from Walmart in Fairfield.

Thursday, September 13, 2018

OTTUMWA — The Ecumenical Lord’s Cupboard says the Food Bank of Iowa won’t allow the food pantry to pick up day-old bread and salad from Hy-Vee bakery anymore. That could hurt some of the food pantry’s clients, said Lord’s Cupboard Director Jessi Milner.

Wednesday, September 12, 2018

FAIRFIELD — Volunteers finished putting up panels of the traveling Vietnam memorial Wednesday afternoon. Visitors were looking for familiar names long before the exhibit opened at Greater Jefferson County Fairgrounds.

Thursday, September 06, 2018

OTTUMWA — A wet week put a big dent in the area’s drought situation. While it’s too early to say the drought has broken, this week’s assessment shows clear improvement.

Friday, August 17, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018

OTTUMWA — When storms show up in the forecast, one of the best places to check is the Storm Prediction Center. It forecasts the risk of severe weather.

Monday, August 13, 2018
Friday, August 10, 2018

FAIRFIELD — A Fairfield dairy has moooved to the front of the herd as one of only 30 nationally given a five-cow rating.

BLOOMFIELD — The ongoing drought in southern Iowa is drawing attention from the federal government with disaster declarations for Davis, Appanoose and Van Buren counties already in effect.

Wednesday, August 08, 2018

OTTUMWA — The man accused by authorities of hitting and killing a boy in Davis County in June, then leaving the scene, has been hit with new charges in the case.

Tuesday, August 07, 2018
Friday, August 03, 2018
Thursday, August 02, 2018
Saturday, July 28, 2018

OTTUMWA --- Rich Gaumer, a member of the Indian Hills Community College Board of Trustees, recently received the prestigious John P. Kibbie Award given to an outstanding board member at one of the state’s community colleges.

Wednesday, July 25, 2018
Sunday, July 15, 2018

Most pilots missed the judge-declared goal Sunday morning -- winds took them too far east -- but a sunny morning with 1- to 3-mile-an-hour winds were perfect for marker drops in Ottumwa park.

Friday, July 13, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018

OTTUMWA — Fly Ottumwa is planning three days of family fun and entertainment revolving around the city’s aviation history, but it’s also accepting the mission to keep the world’s aviation industry growing.

Sunday, July 08, 2018

OTTUMWA – The 41st Ottumwa Pro Balloon Races kick off with a seafood boil and a crab-shaped balloon Thursday at 5 p.m. at the Jimmy Jones Shelter in Ottumwa’s War Memorial Park.

Friday, June 22, 2018
Thursday, June 21, 2018
Sunday, June 17, 2018
Thursday, June 14, 2018

DES MOINES — A Fairfield psychiatrist has been fined by the Iowa Board of Medicine for improperly prescribing opioids and sedatives, including to himself and family members.

Friday, June 08, 2018
Friday, June 01, 2018
Thursday, May 31, 2018

OTTUMWA — Candidates for Iowa Senate District 41 rarely clashed with each other during Thursday’s forum, but they weren’t facing off against ideological opponents.

OTTUMWA — Former teacher José Ortiz will spend 120 days behind bars starting immediately. He pleaded guilty to sexual exploitation by a school employee, a misdemeanor which carried a maximum penalty of up to two years in prison.

Wednesday, May 30, 2018

OTTUMWA — Sarah Reinecke loves when people underestimate her at competitive eating events. She's also a competitive bodybuilder. She doesn't look like she could possibly pack away huge amounts of food.

Tuesday, May 29, 2018
Monday, May 28, 2018
featured

OTTUMWA — You might remember “Larry the Flagman.” He’s not from Ottumwa, but he was here in 2014 for the funeral of Marine Cpl. Adam Wolff.

OTTUMWA — Saturday just missed a record high. Sunday blew past the old record. Today? It looks like another record may fall.

Friday, May 25, 2018

OTTUMWA — The holiday weekend may begin with a few rumbles of thunder, but most of it should feel like summer.

Thursday, May 24, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018

FAIRFIELD — Old tanker cars save Jefferson County taxpayers a significant amount of money, according to county officials. The county is replacing its bridges with them.

Saturday, May 19, 2018

OTTUMWA — Society says you should be honest with the police, should be honest with your therapist and you should be honest with the judge. But a recovering drug addict warns if you want to get better, you absolutely must be honest with yourself.

Friday, May 04, 2018

OTTUMWA — Southern Iowa Mental Health Center has moved to its new location in the former Bridge City Bowl at 1527 Albia Road. Southern Iowa Mental Health Center purchased the property in July 2017 and spent the winter having the building remodeled.

Thursday, May 03, 2018

OTTUMWA — Community health centers allow an area to add the medical resources that private practice doesn't support. But Congressman Dave Loebsack knows they also help in areas where doctors are in short supply.

Monday, April 02, 2018

OTTUMWA — An educator for 33 years and a candidate for the Iowa Senate, Mary Stewart believes her story will be an encouragement to women who attend the Ottumwa Area Chamber of Commerce Women, Wine and Whiskey event May 4.

Saturday, March 31, 2018

OTTUMWA – Trout fishing brings hundreds of people to Ottumwa every spring, said Parks Department Director Gene Rathje Saturday morning. The Ottumwa program is “one of the most popular and successful programs in the state.”

Friday, March 30, 2018

OTTUMWA — When Veronique Shoemaker of Ottumwa realized that work and school schedules would keep her son and husband from sharing quality time, she utilized a schooling option that continues to grow. Nearly 3 percent of Iowa children are taught at home.

Thursday, March 29, 2018

OTTUMWA — Ed Malloy admitted his first campaign visit to Ottumwa drew fewer people than hoped. But he said the sparse attendance isn’t a worry at this stage of the campaign.

OTTUMWA — A bill requiring a “high-quality emergency operations plan” in all public and accredited nonpublic schools will force Ottumwa’s schools to do what they’re already doing: revise and create new policies to increase safety in their buildings.

Wednesday, March 28, 2018

OTTUMWA — The man in the striped referee’s shirt has inspired gamers, business people and a cartoonist who needed a video game character for an animated film called Wreck it Ralph. Walter Day continues to inspire, a fact that may not be obvious to moviegoers today.

OTTUMWA — Iowa has a love affair with Buddy Holly, not because he lived here, but because he died here. “Buddy – The Buddy Holly Story” comes to Bridge View Center Friday at 7:30 p.m., profiling the headliner of the day the music died.

Sunday, March 18, 2018
Friday, March 16, 2018
Wednesday, February 21, 2018

This Week's Circulars