Ad-Express and Daily Iowegian, Centerville, IA

September 11, 2013

Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Award given to 63 Iowa families

The Daily Iowegian

---- — Gov. Terry E. Branstad, Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds, Iowa Sec. of Agriculture Bill Northey and Iowa Department of Natural Resources Director Chuck Gipp presented 63 Iowa farm families with the Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Award during a ceremony at the Iowa State Fair on Thursday, Aug. 15. EPA Administrator Gina McCarthy also spoke at a luncheon following the ceremony recognizing the winners.

“We recognize the commitment and investment that Iowa farmers have made to protect the soil and improve water quality and these awards are an opportunity to highlight their good work,” Branstad said. “These farmers are leading the way in environmental stewardship.”

“Iowa farmers are passionate about the work they do and how they care for our natural resources,” Reynolds said. “These awards are an opportunity to pay tribute to exceptional Farm Environmental Leaders.”

The award is a joint effort between the Governor, Lt. Governor, Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, and Iowa Department of Natural Resources to recognize the efforts of Iowa’s farmers as environmental leaders committed to healthy soils and improved water quality. It seeks to recognize the exemplary voluntary actions of farmers that improve or protect the environment and natural resources of our state while also encouraging other farmers to follow in their footsteps by building success upon success.

“Iowa has tremendous farmers who are not only the most productive in the world, but who also understand that we must care for the soil and water and preserve it for the next generation,” Northey said.

Winners were presented a certificate as well as a yard sign donated by Monsanto and Hagie Manufacturing sponsored the recognition luncheon following the ceremony.

Davis County

Ray and Phyllis More, 15012 Bison Trail, Drakesville

Clarke and Lucas counties

Jeff Pollard, 3350 Milo St., Woodburn

Monroe County

Mike and Brenda Ryan, 2648 515th Ave. in Melrose

Lucas County

Connie Smith and W.B. Smith Family, 26017 442nd Lane in Chariton

Randy, Sandy, Travis and Anne Swartz, 31084 420th St. in Russell