Ad-Express and Daily Iowegian, Centerville, IA

September 11, 2013

Andrews, Brennecke win Wayne Community seats

The Daily Iowegian


Unofficial counts from the Wayne County auditor's office show Barry Andrews and David Brennecke have won the two spots on the Wayne School Board that were up for grabs on Tuesday.


Andrews received 53 votes while Brennecke received 43. There were 10 votes scattering.

Jonathan Power and Tom Rembe won the two Seymour Community School Board seats that were available. Power recevied 141 votes while Rembe received 101. Danny Furlin Jr. received 71 votes as the third candidate for the position.

The Southwestern Community College Public Measure "D" passed with 88 yes votes. There were 45 "no" votes cast. Jerry Smith, running unopposed for Southwestern Community College, received 115 votes.

For the Mormon Trail School District, Marc Smiarowski was the leading vote-getter with 105 votes. Jan Lundahl received 73 votes. Smiarowski and Lundahl were the two election to the four-year district term. Other vote getters for the race were Tami Arnold, receiving 50 votes, and Robert Gunzenhouser with 45.