Ad-Express and Daily Iowegian, Centerville, IA

June 26, 2013

Harkin urges disaster assistance for Appanoose County

The Daily Iowegian

---- — WASHINGTON, D.C. – In letters sent today to President Barack Obama and Craig Fugate, director of Federal Emergency Management Agency, Sen. Tom Harkin (D-IA) urged federal support for Iowa disaster assistance. The letters specifically requested a Presidential Disaster Declaration for 48 Iowa counties across the state which suffered significant damage from winds, tornadoes, heavy rains and thunderstorms resulting in severe flooding earlier this month.

“Damaging winds, tornadoes, heavy rains, and thunderstorms resulted in severe flooding beginning on May 19 through June 23, causing significant damages to public infrastructure and private property. Floodwaters hampered emergency response efforts, county roads suffered extensive damages, bridges were overtopped and washed out, businesses were affected, and residents were evacuated and displaced from their homes,” said Harkin in the letter. “I respectfully request that this relief be granted so that Iowa may quickly recover from this disaster.”

Emergency disaster assistance has been requested for Appanoose, Benton, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Clay, Clayton, Crawford, Davis, Delaware, Des Moines, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Greene, Grundy, Hardin, Henry, Ida, Iowa, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Lyon, Mahaska, Marshall, Mitchell, Monona, Monroe, O’Brien, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Poweshiek, Sac, Sioux, Story, Tama, Wapello, Webster, Winnebago and Wright counties.