Ad-Express and Daily Iowegian, Centerville, IA

October 22, 2012

RASWC receipts, disbursements lower than prior year

The state audit report did find an issue with the use of credit cards by RASWC employees.

By Michael Schaffer - Managing editor
Daily Iowegian

CENTERVILLE — A state audit of Rathbun Area Solid Waste Commission for the fiscal year that ended June 30, 2012 showed both receipts and disbursements dropped from the prior year.

Total receipts for RASWC decreased by 12 percent from the prior year. Receipts come from transfer station gate, recycling and grants.

Total disbursements for RASWC decreased by 9 percent from the prior year. Disbursements include salaries, benefits, solid waste disposal fees and debt service.

For the fiscal year ending June 30, 2012 total receipts for RASWC were $1,062,824; total disbursements were $1,022,237.

The state audit report was released Oct. 15.

The report points out RASWC operating receipts decreased slightly due to lower gate fee collections and operating disbursements were lower due to repair drainage structural damage and road damage to the landfill caused by the flooding in fiscal year 2011.

The audit report shows RASWC for fiscal year 2012 lowered their bond and debt obligation by more than $100,000 from the prior year. The audit states payments made during the year accounted for the debt decrease.

The state audit raised an issue with RASWC's use of credit cards by various employees while on Commission business.

The audit states "supporting documentation was not always available to support credit card charges."

State auditors recommend "supporting documentation to substantiate credit card charges should be submitted and attached to claims for payment."

The state auditor's office accepted RASWC's response that we "will require receipts for all credit card purchases."

The purpose of Rathbun Area Solid Waste Commission, formed in 1983, is to develop, operate and maintain solid waste facilities on behalf of the units of government which are members of the Commission: Centerville, Cincinnati, Exline, Moravia, Moulton, Mystic, Numa, Plano, Promise City, Rathbun, Seymour, Udell, Unionville and Appanoose County.  

The Commission ceased landfill operation on Dec. 3, 2007 and has operated as a transfer station since that time.