Ad-Express and Daily Iowegian, Centerville, IA


Board approves appropriations; listens to public health transition

From left are Neal Smith, Dean Kaster and Jody McDanel, the three members of the Appanoose County Board of Supervisors in the Appanoose County Courthouse boardroom Tuesday morning. Smith is the newest supervisor after defeating Linda Rouse in November, 2012. McDanel won re-election in November, 2012. Kaster runs for re-election in November of 2014. Supervisors serve four year terms.

Featured Ads

The Iowegian wants readers to think about the solicitation ordinance that will prevent groups or individuals from entering a roadway to solicit money. The Centerville City Council in June by a 5-0 vote passed the first reading of just such an ordinance. Public pressure and during a subsequent special meeting, the council voted 3-2 to table the ordinance. A second special meeting to discuss the solicitation ordinance is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 7 at City Hall. So, the question of the week is, "Do you or do you not support the ordinance to prevent solicitation of funds in city streets?"

A. I support the ordinance
B. I do not support the ordinance
C. Not sure
     View Results
Iowegian on Facebook