Ad-Express and Daily Iowegian, Centerville, IA

January 22, 2013

Public comment request on the five proposed Local Administrative Area boundaries

Daily Iowegian

CENTERVILLE — David Wynn, Monroe-Appanoose County executive director announces that as part of a recent consolidation effort, the Farm Service Agency  closed the local office in Centerville and consolidated the operation in Albia.  The new office is known as the Monroe-Appanoose Farm Service Agency.

To ensure producers in both counties are being represented by locally elected county committee members, one combined board will be elected in future elections. Boundaries were established by existing members of both original county committees to ensure equitable representation within each Local Administrative Area. Five LAA’s have been proposed and the boundaries are now being offered for public comment.

The proposed LAA’s are as follows:

LAA 1:  consists of Cedar, Union, Wayne, Guilford, and Jackson townships in Monroe County.

LAA 2:  consists of Franklin, Monroe, and Urbana townships in Monroe County and Chariton, Walnut, Taylor and Union townships in Appanoose County.

LAA 3:  consists of Bluff Creek, Pleasant, Troy and Mantua townships in Monroe County.

LAA 4:  consists of Independence, Johns, Lincoln, Franklin, Bell Air and Pleasant townships in Appanoose County.

LAA 5:  consists of Vermillion, Douglas, Sharon, Caldwell, Udell, Washington, and Wells townships in Appanoose County.

FSA will receive public comments through Jan. 31 at the Monroe-Appanoose FSA office located at 1701 South B St., Suite 200, Albia, Iowa  52531.