Ad-Express and Daily Iowegian, Centerville, IA

August 14, 2012

Directors elected at Appanoose County Farm Bureau’s annual meeting July 31 in Centerville

Daily Iowegian

CENTERVILLE — Eighty-six people attended the 2012 Appanoose County Farm Bureau annual meeting on July 31. It was held at the Faith United Methodist Church south of Centerville. A delicious meal of roast beef sandwiches, cheesy potatoes and green beans was prepared and served by members of the Appanoose County Cattlemen, along with cookies.

President Dan Furlin Jr. introduced elected officials, political candidates and or their representatives, other invited guests, plus the Farm Bureau board and spouses, Farm Bureau staff and Farm Bureau Financial Services staff.

Monetary donations and groceries from members for the Lord’s Cupboard food pantry were presented to Jan Bolger.

The business meeting was called to order at 7:28 p.m. Minutes from the 2011 annual meeting and the financial report were presented and approved.

Directors elected for two-year terms, effective immediately, were Jon Hart, Area 1, Independence, Chariton, Johns, Walnut and Bellair townships; Ron Mason, Area 2,  Taylor, Union, Douglas and Udell townships; James Schweizer, Area 3: Lincoln, Vermillion, Franklin and Pleasant townships; and David Haines, Area 4, Sharon, Washington, Caldwell and Wells townships; At-Large, Jim Rodebush and Gary Stickler Jr.

They join board members whose terms did not expire this year: Tom Zaputil, Mark McGill, Blake White, Brian Davis, Dan Furlin Jr. and Mark Haines. The officers will be elected from within this group of 12 by the directors themselves.

Vice President Mark McGill gave the proposed policy development resolutions. These were adopted and afterwards were sent to the state resolutions committee for consideration as state policy.

Guest speaker John Anderson is a senior economist with the American Farm Bureau Federation’s economic analysis department. He grew up on beef and poultry farm in Arkansas, went to college in Oklahoma, and worked in Mississippi before joining the Farm Bureau staff. He discussed the weather, expected crop production yields for corn and beans, livestock markets, and foreign crop production. He gave his predictions on crop prices and answered several questions from the audience.

Officers elected:

The Appanoose County Farm Bureau board of directors met for a brief meeting following the annual meeting on July 31. This was instead of the regular monthly meeting on Aug. 6. President Dan Furlin Jr. called the meeting to order. Since the September board meeting day under the normal schedule  will fall on Labor Day, the board agreed to meet on Monday, Aug. 27, for the September meeting.  

A motion was made and approved that that Gary Stickler Jr. be the treasurer. A motion was made and approved that all other officers (President Dan Furlin Jr., Vice President Mark McGill, Secretary Blake White, and Voting Delegate Tom Zaputil) retain their positions. Terms for president, vice president, secretary and treasurer are for one year, beginning immediately, until annual meeting 2013. Voting delegate Tom Zaputil is in a three-year term running Jan. 1, 2011 to Dec. 31, 2013.

The July financial report was reviewed and approved. Discussion included the drought and revenue protection crop insurance.