Ad-Express and Daily Iowegian, Centerville, IA

February 6, 2014

4-H holds awards ceremony

The Daily Iowegian

---- — On Saturday, Jan. 11 the Appanoose County 4-H program held their awards banquet to celebrate the successes and achievements of the youth involved in 4-H. The evening began with a welcome by members of the Appanoose County 4-H Youth Council. The presentation of awards followed a delicious meal and great time of visiting by 220 4-H members and their families.

The 4-H Adult Committee began by recognizing the scholarship recipients from the previous year. The winner of the Anna Louise and Davis H. Burgher Scholarship was Shelby Royer, daughter of Jeff and Brenda Royer. Shelby Thamke, daughter of Aaron and Marcy Thamke, received the Alfred Bauman Scholarship. The winners for the Norris Price Scholarships were Shelby Royer and Shelby Thamke.

The Youth Council recognized the 30 leaders of Appanoose County’s 13 4-H Clubs, as well as the members of the various councils and boards associated with 4-H, including the 4-H Adult Committee, Appanoose County Fairboard, 4-H Foundation and the Appanoose County Extension Council.

The next order of business was awards for Record Books. Although record keeping is a time-consuming and strenuous task, the Appanoose County 4-H Program had over 100 Record Books turned in this year and over 250 awards given.

Each year the State 4-H Council, in cooperation with the Iowa 4-H Foundation and county 4-H staff, conduct the Iowa 4-Hers for 4-H campaign. Local clubs are asked to contribute $2.50 per member to support 4-H events and program activities as identified by the State 4-H Council. This year, the B.V. Sodbusters met their campaign goal and received a certification of appreciation.

The Rainbow Cookbook award was received by Melanie McGill, daughter of Mark and Myra McGill. This award is given every year in memory of the Rainbow 4-H Club and is donated by the Jerald and Judi Lawson family. The Rainbow 4-H Club was a formerly active club in Washington Township during the late 1950s and early 1960s. The cookbook is given each year to a senior 4-H member who has excelled in food and nutrition.

The Herdsmanship Award was given to the B.V. Sodbusters. An important part of the fair each year is how the barns and exhibit building looks when fairgoers visit the fair. Herdsmanship is judged by the Youth Council members and is evaluated on barn appearance, organization, décor and detail work.

William H. Danforth, founder of Ralston Purina Company, challenged young people to achieve their highest potential and to influence others through their services. The individuals who receive the Danforth Awards each year are selected by the 4-H Committee for outstanding leadership in their club and their communities. This year’s recipients of the Danforth Award were McKinlee Maletta, daughter of Roger Maletta and Heather Maletta and Melanie McGill, daughter of Mark and Myra McGill.

Kim Beals from Iowa Trust & Savings Bank presented awards to Jenna Inman, daughter of Greg and Jerilyn Inman, Katie Morris, daughter of Bill and Tracy Morris and Myriah Porter, daughter of Butch and Bev Porter. Greg Gordon from Farmers Bank of Northern Missouri presented awards to Justin Brown, son of Brent and Barb Brown, Melanie McGill, daughter of Mark and Myra McGill and Sydney Ocker, daughter of Russ and Angela Ocker.

The Ron Turk Memorial Award was presented to McKinlee Maletta, daughter of Roger Maletta and Heather Maletta. Ron devoted a great deal of his time and hard work to “Make the Best Better” and today continues to give to the youth of 4-H through this memorial award. Ron was a 4-H Leader of the Franklin Farmhands for 53 years and was inducted into the 4-H Hall of Fame at the 2003 Iowa State Fair. The 2001 Appanoose County Fair was dedicated in his honor as well as the show arena being named the Ronald Turk Show Arena.

The installation of new Youth Council Members, who hope to continue carrying on the 4-H spirit in Appanoose County was followed by initiating an Honorary Member into the Appanoose County 4-H Program. The honorary member honored was Michele Burge. Michele has devoted countless hours to the Appanoose County 4-H Program. Not only does she serve on the Adult Committee and as a co-leader of a 4-H club, she has also started a brand new specialty club.

The Appanoose County 4-H Program is growing and opens a world of possibilities to young people. There are opportunities to anyone in kindergarten – 12th grade. To find out more about 4-H in Appanoose County, contact the Iowa State University Extension Office at (641) 856-3885. You can also visit our website,